Monthly Archives: September 2015

BOLSHOI Opera Guest Soloist to perform at your local Theatre

 

PAGE 11&12 - Bozhenko 

Irina Bozhenko, who has starred in operas across the globe, and will be making guest appearances in the leading role of Violetta, for performances in Harrogate, Llandudno, Blackburn, Darlington, Stockport and York.

Mon 28-Sep Harrogate, Royal Hall 01423 502 116
Tue 29-Sep Llandudno, Venue Cymru 01492 872 000
Fri 02-Oct Stockport, The Plaza 01614 777 779
Sun 04-Oct Blackburn, King Georges Hall 0844 847 1664
Tue 06-Oct Darlington, Civic Theatre 01325 486 555
Wed 07-Oct York, Barbican 0844 854 2757

How old were you when you realised that you wanted to be an Opera singer?

I used to sing in kinder garden and then in school where I was part of the school choir. I went through a stage of trying to be like Whitney Huston. Especially, I used to love singing when I did chores at home.

What do you do after a performance?

We have a tradition with the cast – After any premiere we get together to celebrate and discuss the performance. We are all together in it, rehearsals, stress, and performances, so it’s important to share the feelings with each other and get it out of your chest.

 I have met some Opera singers that would wake up in the middle of the night to go through their lines. How do you separate work from home?

I never bring my work home. Although sometimes if I can’t get things right I moan to my husband. He is a good musician so he understands what I am talking about.

What do you like doing in your free time?

I like to cook and being outside. Nothing extraordinary. Being surrounded by nature calms me down. It’s important for me to switch off at the right moment. We give so much emotion on stage it’s vital to recharge.

If you could, what message will you give to the audience?

Don’t be shy to show your emotions, it is really important for us. At the end of the day we are singing for you!

 The opera is being performed by The Russian State Opera as part of the company’s UK wide opera tour from September to mid October 2015.

For information and tickets for La Traviata, please visit amande-concerts.co.uk/la-traviata

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Russian State Ballet Season 2015

V5

presented by The Russian State Ballet and Opera House and performed to a large live Orchestra.

‘Always top quality shows from this producer’- Stage Talk Magazine

 

Please follow this link to read more about the history and how these ballets came to life!

Fri 16-Oct Chatham, Central Theatre* Nutcracker 01634 338 338
Sun 18-Oct Dunstable, The Grove Theatre* Nutcracker 01582 602080
Mon 19-Oct Eastbourne, Congress Theatre Swan Lake 01323 412 000
Tue 20-Oct Eastbourne, Congress Theatre Nutcracker 01323 412 000
Wed 21-Oct Eastbourne, Congress Theatre Don Quixote 01323 412 000
Thu 22-Oct Harlow, The Playhouse Nutcracker 01279 431 945
Fri 23-Oct York , Barbican Nutcracker 0844 854 2757
Sat 24-Oct Peterborough, Key Theatre* Nutcracker 01733 207 239
Sun 25-Oct Swindon, Wyvern Theatre Nutcracker 01793 524 481
Mon 26-Oct Chesterfield, Pomegranate Swan Lake 01246 345 222
Tue 27-Oct Stevenage, Gordon Craig Theatre Swan Lake 01438 363 200
Wed 28-Oct Stevenage, Gordon Craig Theatre Don Quixote 01438 363 200
Thu 29-Oct Stafford, Gatehouse Theatre Nutcracker 01785 619080
Fri 30-Oct Shrewsbury, Theatre Severn Don Quixote 01743 281 281
Sat 31-Oct Shrewsbury, Theatre Severn Swan Lake 01743 281 281
Sun 01-Nov Loughborough Town Hall* Swan Lake 01509 231 914
Tue 03-Nov Guildford, Yvonne Arnaud Theatre Nutcracker 01483 440 000
Wed 04-Nov Guildford, Yvonne Arnaud Theatre Don Quixote 01483 440 000
Thu 05-Nov Llandudno, Venue Cymru Nutcracker 01492 872 000
Fri 06-Nov Portsmouth, Kings Theatre Swan Lake 023 9282 8282
Sat 07-Nov Yeovil, Octagon Theatre Nutcracker 01935 422 884
Sun 08-Nov Dorking Halls Swan Lake 01306 881 717
Mon 09-Nov Swansea, Grand Theatre Don Quixote 01792 475 715
Tue 10-Nov Tunbridge Wells, Assembly Hall Nutcracker 01892 530 613
Wed 11-Nov New Brighton, Floral Pavilion Swan Lake 0151 666 0000
Thu 12-Nov Cheltenham, Everyman Theatre Nutcracker 01242 572 573
Fri 13-Nov Cheltenham, Everyman Theatre Don Quixote 01242 572 573
Sat 14-Nov Cheltenham, Everyman Theatre Swan Lake 01242 572 573
Sun 15-Nov Halifax, Victoria Theatre Nutcracker 01422 351 158
Mon 16-Nov Lincoln Theatre Royal* Nutcracker 01522 519 999
Tue 17-Nov Wakefield, Theatre Royal* Swan Lake 01924 211 311
Wed 18-Nov Newcastle Tyne Theatre Swan Lake 0844 2491 000
Fri 20-Nov Billingham, Forum Theatre Nutcracker 01642 552 663
Sat 21-Nov Carlisle, Sands Centre Don Quixote 01228 633 766
Sun 22-Nov Stockport, The Plaza Nutcracker 01614 777 779
Mon 23-Nov Harrogate, Royal Hall Swan Lake 01423 502 116
Tue 24-Nov Harrogate, Royal Hall Don Quixote 01423 502 116
Wed 25-Nov Crewe, Lyceum Theatre* Nutcracker 01270 368 242
Thu 26-Nov Scarborough, The Spa Nutcracker 01723 821 888
Sat 28-Nov Colchester, Charter Hall* Nutcracker 01206 282 020
Sun 29-Nov Hastings, White Rock Theatre Nutcracker 01424 462 288
Mon 30-Nov Swansea, Grand Theatre Nutcracker 01792 475 715
* These performances will not have the live orchestra and will be performed to playback music